This is the "Home" page of the "BADM1103 -- Introduction to Business -- Anderson" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BADM1103 -- Introduction to Business -- Anderson  

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uco.edu/content.php?pid=305135 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

BADM 1103 Course Guide

Hello everyone,

As promised, here is a custom-tailored guide for your course.  Below is a short list of databases and websites to consult for your Business Plan Group Project.  Hope you enjoyed your instruction session today.  Don't forget, if you have any questions, just Ask Us.

Central Search

Use Central Search to search for books, articles, government documents, videos, and other materials we keep in the library that are related to your topic. Here are a few example searches which might be helpful for your assignment:

business planning

starting a business

entrepeneurship

Specific Databases

Business Source Complete

You can use Business Source Complete (BSC) to obtain a variety of information.  BSC contains loads of different news and scholarly articles on different industries and companies, information on business planning, entrepeneurship, and marketing.  Like most databases, use keywords to search for your topic.  Example search:

business planning AND marketing

You can also find SWOT analyses of different companies by typing:

Your Company AND SWOT

To obtain industry profiles, type the name of the industry into the search box, and use the “Publication Type” box below to limit the search to industry profiles.

Standard & Poor’s

Standard & Poor’s (SP) is great for industry analysis, company profiles, and financials.  Once you log in, you can search for specific companies or use the “Quick Links” box to find information on a specific industry.  Definitely consult this database for your assignment once you’ve identified type of business you’ll be starting for your assignment.

Mergent Online

Mergent is a powerful database, most useful for company financials.  Mergent also allows you to create custom reports where you can select different data sets to include.  You can even compare multiple companies.  Try it out and create a comparison report with different companies within the industry you have selected.

ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA is kind of like an electronic version of the Yellow Pages on crack.  Use this database to find geographical business data.  For example, you could use ReferenceUSA to search for all the different pizza joints with a 73034 zip code in their address.  Make sure to use the custom search.

LexisNexis

Use LexisNexis for several different kinds of information.  First, you can use LexisNexis to perform business news searches.

LexisNexis is also good for company financials, company profiles, and SEC filings.  To access all of these, make sure to click on the “Business” link on the left-hand side of the LexisNexis homepage.

Websites

There are a variety of different web sites you also should consult to obtain valuable information for this assignment.  These are just a few important ones.  You may need to search the Internet for more information.

NAICS

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) website allows you to find the NAICS code for any type of business.

American Factfinder

Extremely useful site for researching demographic information and Economic census data.

Oklahoma Department of Commerce

Find information about licenses and permits required to start a business in the state of Oklahoma, workforce salary and demographical information, tons of statistical information, and much more.  All of you should consult this web site for your assignment.

Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce

Here you can find market analysis and economic forecasts concerning OKC metro area.

Oklahoma City Economic Development Information System (OKCEDIS)

“Generate economic, business, planning, geographic, and demographic information in real time via the web. Our website application allows users to view, create, and print maps; perform site selection searches; and customize and analyze demographic and business data.”

Greater Oklahoma City Economic Development

Great resource for new and existing businesses.  Includes tons of different information.

Oklahoma Business Incentives and Tax Information Guide 2011

Great PDF document providing information about state taxes and tax incentives.

Okay, that’s all I have.  The rest is up to you.  Please feel free to Ask Us if you have any questions at all.  We are more than happy to help.  Good luck with the assignment.


Ona Britton-Spears

&

Emily Brown

Ona's profile

Profile Image
Ona Britton-Spears
Contact Info
Phone: 405-974-2979
In Person: Tues-Friday 8:-5pm
Send Email
 

LibraryH3lp

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Class Evaluation

  • Class Evaluation!
    Please take a minute to fill out this class evaluation. Please use the Session ID written on the white board.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip