- American Statistical Index (Library Use Only)
A comprehensive guide and index to the statistical publications of the U. S. government.
- Bomb Data Center
Databases incorporating information from various sources such as the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives; the Federal Bureau of Investigation; and the United States Fire Administration. Information maintained by the National Repository is available for statistical analysis and investigative research by scholars and the law enforcement community.
- Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms
Data on firearms traces and manufacturing.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
Aggregated data from a wide variety of published sources, intended for analytic use. Includes a dynamic interface that allows users to construct and download custom tables.
- Bureau of Prisons
Quick facts on the inmate population and staff employed by the Federal Bureau of Prisons.
- Census of Jails
Presents facility characteristics and characteristics of persons under the jurisdiction of local and Federal jail authorities on June 30, 1999.
- Census of State and Federal Correction Facilities
Selected findings from the Census of State and Federal Correctional Facilities, 2005. The report includes data on characteristics of facilities by type, size, security level, rated and design capacities, court orders, and use of private contractors. It provides data on custody populations by type of facility, gender, and facility security level. The report includes data on facility staff by gender, occupational categories, and inmate-to-staff ratios by type of facility.
- Correctional Population in the US
The total correctional population includes all persons incarcerated, either in prison or jail, or supervised in the community either on probation or parole. Several different data collections are used to estimate this population, including the National Prisoner Statistics Program, Annual Survey of Jails, and Annual Probation Survey, Annual Parole Survey (listed under data sources).
- Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics
Collects statistics for violent crime (murder and nonnegligent manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, and aggravated assault) and property crime (burglary, larceny-theft, and motor vehicle theft).
- Crime and Victims
Collects information from victims on nonfatal violent and property crimes, reported and not reported to the police, against persons age 12 or older from a nationally representative sample of U.S. households. It produces national rates and levels of personal and property victimization.
- Drug and Crime Facts
Summarizes U.S. statistics about drug-related crimes, law enforcement, courts, and corrections from Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and non-BJS sources.
- Drug Enforcement Agency
Drug control and arrest statistics.
Statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining trends that can help you better understand crime threats both nationally and locally.
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
- Hate Crime Statistics
Presents data regarding incidents, offenses, victims, and offenders in reported crimes that were motivated in whole or in part by a bias against the victim's perceived race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or disability.
Data on homicide trends of children under age five.
- Internet Crime Complaint Center
- Intimate Partner Violence
Includes estimates of the extent of crimes against females and males and the characteristics of crimes and victims. Crime trends are also presented, along with comparative estimates of crimes against males.
- National Criminal Justice Reference System
Federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- National Data Collection on Police Use of Force
- National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism
Information regarding information collection, terrorism and crime prevention, and other related topics.
- Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Statistical briefs provided by the Department of Justice.
- Office for Victims of Crime
- State and Federal Corrections Info System
- State and Metro Data Book
Features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of sources. Information in the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, this is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
- Wiretap Reports
Each Wiretap Report uses tables, text, and charts to report information provided by federal and state officials on orders authorizing or approving interceptions of wire, oral, or electronic communications for the calendar year ending December 31.