Skip to main content
Skip navigation
Spring 2021:
  • Enter the library via the South or East Entrance.
  • The Market may be accessed from the East Entrance - check Market hours
  • Masks and Social Distancing are required while in the library.
  • 4th floor is closed.
For more information visit our COVID-19 Response page.

 

Art Exhibitions

Give Now
Online exhibit of Don't Touch My Hair: An Ode to Black Girls Everywhere

Evolution of Native American Art: Traditional to Contemporary

November 1-31, 2016

In celebration of Native American Month guest artists Michael Elizondo Jr. and Micah Wesley shared with the audience what influences and inspires them to create their art. They explored topics of symbolism, cultural identity, micro-aggression and sociological events that impacted their tribes, all topics relevant in today’s political climate. These topics stimulated enlightening dialogue with students in attendance.

Artworks on display represented some of the most influential artists who helped shape the Native American Fine Arts Movement of the 20th Century including, Woody Crumbo, Creek-Potawatomi; Jerome Tiger, Creek-Seminole; David Williams, Kiowa- Tonkawa/Kiowa-Apache; and T.C. Cannon, Kiowa-Caddo. For more information about the exhibition visit the link below.

For more information, read the exhibition booklet at the link below.

Click images to view larger

David Williams (Kiowa/Apache/Tonkawa, 1933-85), Untitled. 1974. Etching. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

David Williams (Kiowa/Apache/Tonkawa, 1933-85), "Kiowa Fancy Dancer." 1972. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Doc Tate Nevaquaya (Comanche, 1932-96), "Prayer to the Buffalo." nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

T.C. Cannon (Kiowa/Caddo, 1946-78), "Grandmother Gestating Father." nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Jerome Tiger (Muscogee Creek-Seminole, 1941-67), "Pow Wow." 1966. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Micah Wesley (Muscogee Creek/Kiowa, 1978- ), "Fading Identity: Forgive Us Our Trespass." 2016. Acrylic on cradled masonite. On loan from artist.

Michael Elizondo Jr. (Southern Cheyenne/Kaw/Chumash, 1985- ), "Mahtiame (Medicine tipi)." 2016. Oil and wax on masonite. On loan from artist.

Michael Elizondo Jr. (Southern Cheyenne/Kaw/Chumash, 1985- ), "The Union." 2013. Acrylic. On loan from artist.

Poteet Victory (Cherokee/Choctaw, 1947- ), Untitled. 1986. Oil on canvas. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Jerome Tiger (Muscogee Creek-Seminole, 1941-67), Untitled. 1966. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Woody Crumbo (Pottawatomi, 1912-89). "Spirit Horse." nd. Original silk screen print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Woody Crumbo (Pottawatomi, 1912-89). "Flute Dancer." nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Transfer from Melton Art Gallery.

T.C. Cannon (Kiowa/Caddo, 1946-78), "A Bomb Sweatshirt." nd. Quill pen & ink. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Curator
Shikoh Shiraiwa, Archives Specialist


Opening Reception - November 14, 2016

Michael Elizondo Jr.,
Artist and Adjunct Professor

Micah Wesley,
Artist and Adjunct Professor

Michael Elizondo Jr.,
Artist and Adjunct Professor

Michael Elizondo Jr.,
Artist and Adjunct Professor

Michael Elizondo Jr.,
Artist and Adjunct Professor

Guests of event

Guests of event

Guests of event

Guests of event

Michael Elizondo Jr.,
Artist and Adjunct Professor
and guests

Micah Wesley,
Artist and Adjunct Professor

Guests of event

Micah Wesley,
Artist and Adjunct Professor
and guests

Guests of event

Guests of event