Skip to main content
Skip navigation
Spring 2021:
  • Enter the library via the South or East Entrance.
  • The Market may be accessed from the East Entrance - check Market hours
  • Masks and Social Distancing are required while in the library.
  • 4th floor is closed.
For more information visit our COVID-19 Response page.

 

Art Exhibitions

Give Now
Online exhibit of Don't Touch My Hair: An Ode to Black Girls Everywhere

Indigenous Visual Sovereignty

November 1 - 31, 2018

Celebrating Indigenous Peoples Day the Library exhibited piece of Native American art from the university’s collections. Jonathan Byrn, visiting Asst. Prof. History & Geography gave a gripping lecture on the topic of visual sovereignty. He examined aspects of indigenous identity and representation through various mediums. Byrn emphasized, “It's a way many native artists are using their art to combat negative stereotypes and misrepresentation of their cultures." 

He went on to argue, “Visual Sovereignty is a small part of the larger indigenous decolonization movement, which is occurring in many different forms from language revitalization and indigenous education initiatives to economic development and native nation building.” In other words, Native American cultures are not static but constantly changing and have done so since time immemorial.

Bryn also curated an exhibit of Native American artwork. Many of the works represented a satirical twist on traditional themes from popular culture. These works demonstrate an effort by Native American artist to take back their own cultural narratives. For more information about the exhibition visit the link below.

Click images to view larger

Bunky Echo-Hawk (Yakama/Pawnee), Title unknown. nd. On loan from artist.

Bunky Echo-Hawk (Yakama/Pawnee), Title unknown. 2018. On loan from artist.

David Williams (Kiowa/Apache/Tonkawa, 1933-85), "Indian Police." 1972. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

T.C. Cannon (Kiowa/Caddo, 1946-78), "Grandmother Gestating Father." nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Steven Paul Judd (Kiowa/Choctaw), "The Indigenous Hulk." nd. On loan from private collection.

Steven Paul Judd (Kiowa/Choctaw), "Jaws." nd. On loan from private collection.

Lee Roy Joshua (Creek/Seminole), "Wish I Had Another Beer." Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Brent Lincoln Learned (Cheyenne/Arapaho, 1969- ), "Pink Arapaho." nd. Acrylic on canvas. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Micah Wesley (Muscogee Creek/Kiowa, 1978- ), "Fading Identity: Forgive Us Our Trespass." 2016. Acrylic on cradled masoniteOn loan from artist.

Bert Seabourn (1931-present), "Birds and Words." nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Curator
Jonathon Byrn, UCO History & Geography Department Visiting Scholar


Opening Reception - November 14, 2018

Archives STLR Interns 
Lyazzat Galiloll & Michael May

Guests of event

Jonathon Byrn,
UCO History & Geography Department
Visiting Scholar

Jonathon Byrn,
UCO History & Geography Department
Visiting Scholar

Guests of event

Guests of event

Guests of event

Jonathon Byrn,
UCO History & Geography Department
Visiting Scholar

Jonathon Byrn,
UCO History & Geography Department
Visiting Scholar

Guests of event

Jonathon Byrn,
UCO History & Geography Department
Visiting Scholar

Jonathon Byrn,
UCO History & Geography Department
Visiting Scholar