Skip to main content
Skip navigation
Spring 2021:
  • Enter the library via the South or East Entrance.
  • The Market may be accessed from the East Entrance - check Market hours
  • Masks and Social Distancing are required while in the library.
  • 4th floor is closed.
For more information visit our COVID-19 Response page.

 

Art Exhibitions

Give Now
Online exhibit of Don't Touch My Hair: An Ode to Black Girls Everywhere

UCO Collections Exhibition

October 1 - 31, 2018

This exhibit was the product of a collaboration between the curators of the UCO Natural History Collection, housed in the Department of Biology, Linda Louke; Fashion Museum Collection, housed in the College of Education and Professional Studies, Mary Huffman; and The Laboratory of History Museum, where many of the artifacts from UCO history are housed, Heidi Vaughn.

In addition, the UCO Archives and Special Collections showcased pieces from the Melton Legacy Collection, Oklahoma Art Collection, Central and South American Art Collection, African Art Collection, Oceanic Art Collection, and Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection. Both Nicole Willard and Shikoh Shiraiwa spoke on behalf of these collections.

The exhibit was held on the 2nd floor of the Library and many of the collection donor’s were in attendance. Each of the curators spoke about the history of the collections they manage and their significance to UCO. They shared how their collections are used in teaching and the design of object-based curriculum. More information about the event an be found at the link below.

Click images to view larger

Robin Thompson, "Papoose." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Kenny McKenna, "Isis Temple (Grand Canyon)." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Kenny McKenna, "San Francisco De Asis." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Mike Larsen, "The Story Teller." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Beverly Fagan Johnson, "Indian Women." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Nancy Efron, "Southwest Beauty." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Robert Redbird, "Meditation." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Joan Matzdorf, "American Indian Collection." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Shirley Thompson Smith, "Lazy Day Book End." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Frances Bryan, "Rodkey Mill & RR." nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection, Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Thomas Moran, "Venice at Sunset." 1897. Oil on canvas. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Melton Legacy Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Grant Wood, "Monastery Portal." c. 1926. Oil on canvas. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Melton Legacy Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Maximilien Luce, "Seascape." nd. Charcoal. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Melton Legacy Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Georges Rouault, "Revendication." 1930. Mixed media on paper. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Melton Legacy Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Peter Paul Rubens, "Lot and His Daughters." nd. Oil on panel. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Melton Legacy Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Edvard Munch, "Portrait of Nikolai Rygh." c. 1931. Oil on linen paper. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Melton Legacy Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Rod Goebel, "Rocks Along Costilla Creek." nd. Oil on canvas. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Melton Legacy Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Sharron Ahtone Harjo, "Returning Home." Tempera and mixed media. 1977. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Oklahoma Art Collection of the Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Leonard Phelps Good, "Landscape." nd. Watercolor. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Oklahoma Art Collection of the Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Johail Shehada, "In the Style of Callas." 2006. Pastel. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Oklahoma Art Collection of the Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Amada Maurilio Pena, Jr., "Mestizo Series: Acoma." 2006. Mixed media on cradleboard. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Oklahoma Art Collection of the Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Suzanne Silvester.

Festival mask (Mexico, Guatemala, Peru). Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Central and South American Art Collection.

Necklace (Assoro: Samogoni Village, New Guinea). Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Oceanic Art Collection.

 

1920s Edward Molyneux evening gown. University of Central Oklahoma, Oklahoma Fashion Museum Collection, Gift of Mary Huffman.

1930s Velvet evening gown. University of Central Oklahoma, Oklahoma Fashion Museum Collection, Gift of Mary Huffman.

1950-60s Thai silk evening gown. University of Central Oklahoma, Oklahoma Fashion Museum Collection, Gift of Mary Huffman.

1960s Travilla evening gown. University of Central Oklahoma, Oklahoma Fashion Museum Collection, Gift of Mary Huffman.

Curators
Nicole Willard, Asst. Executive Director, Max Chambers Library
Shikoh Shiraiwa, Library Technician III, Archives & Special Collections
Amena Butler, Museum Studies Graduate Student, Archives Intern
Lynda Loucks, Biology Department and Natural History Museum
Mary Huffman, Coordinator of Grants & Contracts, College of Education & Professional Studies
Heidi Vaughn, Director, Laboratory of History Museum, Department of History & Geography
Teresa Pac, Associate Professor, Global Art and Visual Culture, Department of Art


Opening Reception - October 11, 2018

Bob and Kathy Thomas,
Donors of Bob & Kathy
Thomas Collection

Amena Butler, Archives Intern,
and guests

Bob and Kathy Thomas,
Donors of Bob & Kathy 
Thomas Collection

Mary Huffman,
Donor of Oklahoma Museum
Fashion Collection

Habib Tabatabai,
Dir. of Chambers Library
and guests

Suzanne Silvester,
Donor of the Melton Collections
and Habib Tabatabai,
Dir. of Chambers Library

Heidi Vaughn, 
Director of the Laboratory
of History Museum

Heidi Vaughn, 
Director of the Laboratory
of History Museum

Kathy Thomas, Donor
and Heidi Vaughn, 
Director of the Laboratory
of History Museum

Denise Lozeau, Shaye Caban,
and Deborah Thompson

Denise Lozeau, Shaye Caban,
and Deborah Thompson with
Mary Huffman

Lynda Loucks,
Biology Department and
Natural History Museum 

Lynda Loucks and guest

Mary Huffman,
Donor of Oklahoma Museum
Fashion Collection

Teresa Pac,
Associate Professor of
Department of Art
and guest