Skip to main content
Skip navigation
Spring 2021:
  • Enter the library via the South or East Entrance.
  • The Market may be accessed from the East Entrance - check Market hours
  • Masks and Social Distancing are required while in the library.
  • 4th floor is closed.
For more information visit our COVID-19 Response page.

 

Art Exhibitions

Give Now
Online exhibit of Don't Touch My Hair: An Ode to Black Girls Everywhere

Native American Art in the UCO Collections

The art collections held by UCO are rich with works by some of the most influential Native American artists. Many of the artists on display helped shape the Native American Fine Arts Movement of the twentieth century influencing future generations of Native American Artists. Native American art has always been deeply connected to the spiritual and natural but has evolved from the decorative, utilitarian, and ritualistic art of ledger drawings to rich, vibrant often ironic contemporary modern art.

For more information about these works, artists and donors, scroll through each image below.

Archie Black Owl (Cheyenne, 1911-1992), Buffalo Hunt, nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Brent Lincoln Learned (Cheyenne-Arapaho, b. 1969), Pink Arapaho, nd. Acrylic. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Burgess Stewart Roye (Ponca, 1944-2015), Yesterday, 1990. Tempera. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.
 

Darwin Tsoodle Kiowa Dau-Law-Taine (Kiowa, b. 1964), Respect for a Loved One, 2006. Tempera. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Darwin Tsoodle Kiowa Dau-Law-Taine (Kiowa, b. 1964), Wedding Ceremony, 2008. Tempera. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

David (Tos-que) Williams (Apache/Kiowa, 1933-1985), Indian Police, 1972. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Enoch Kelley Haney (Seminole-Muscogee Creek, b. 1940), Untitled, nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Gary Montgomery (Seminole, b. 1950), Sun Blessing, nd. Oil on canvas. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. UCO Native American Art Collection.
 

R. Harjo, Warrior and Pipe, 1998. Colored pencil and ink. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Irene Bradford (1910-1987), Navajo Girl with Yarn, nd. Pastel. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Lee Roy Joshua (Creek-Seminole, 1937-2001), Wish I had Another Beer, 1997. Mixed media ink and colored pencil. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Mike Larsen (Chickasaw, b. 1945), Baby Girl, nd. Oil. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection. Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Mike Larsen (Chickasaw, b. 1945), Indian Portrait, nd. Pastel. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection. Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Joyce Lee Doc Tate Nevaquayah (Comanche, 1932-1996), Comanche Horseman, nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

 

Joyce Lee Doc Tate Nevaquayah (Comanche, 1932-1996), Buffalo Spirit, or Prayer to the Buffalo, nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. UCO Native American Art Collection.

Rance Hood (Comanche, b. 1941), Comanche Warrior (or Morning Blessing), 1976. Lithograph with pencil. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

 

Randall R. Joshua, The War Society, 1976. Acrylic on canvas. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. UCO Native American Art Collection.

Robert Redbird, Sr. (Kiowa, 1939-2016), Meditation, nd. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection. Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Robert Redbird, Sr. (Kiowa, 1939-2016), Untitled, 1973. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection. Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Robert Taylor (Blackfoot/Cherokee/Osage/Black Dutch, b.1951), Having Done All, Stand, nd. Oil. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Robin Thompson, Papoose, nd. Watercolor. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection. Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

Woodrow (Woody) Wilson Big Bow (Kiowa, 1914-1988), Able Big Bow, 1946. Tempera. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Woody Crumbo (Potawatomi, 1912-1989), Flute Dancer, nd. Print. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. UCO Native American Art Collection.

Mike Larsen (Chickasaw, b. 1945), The Storyteller, 1996. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. Bob & Kathy Thomas Collection. Gift of Bob & Kathy Thomas.

America Meredith (Swedish-Cherokee), Cherokee Spokecards, nd. Mixed media on paper. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

T.C. Cannon (Kiowa-Caddo, 1946-1978), Queen J, nd. Mixed media. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Roberta Claire Weckeah Bradley (Comanche, 1920-2014), Portrait of a Child, nd. Pastel. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Marcelle Sharron Ahtone Harjo (Kiowa, b. 1945), Returning Home, 1977. Tempera and mixed media. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Brenda Kingery (Chickasaw, b. 1939), Blue Barrette, nd. Acrylic on board. Archives & Special Collections, Max Chambers Library, University of Central Oklahoma. The Melton Art Reference Library Collection, Gift of Melton Family.

Curator
Kristi Kohl, Archives Specialist


Old North - 3rd Floor


Max Chambers Library - 2nd Floor Display Case